top of page

Contour Drawing

Andy Warhol:

Andy Warhol is most known for his silkscreen prints and the debut of Pop Art, but he also created many contour line drawings. Contour line drawing is quite simply the technique of sketching the contour of an object that defines the lines and edges of said object. Before and after research on Andy Warhol's work, I completed an in class assignment of at least 25 contour drawings of a variety of items in the room.

The below are a few examples of Warhol's contour drawings.

Now, here are the contour drawings I completed in class. The items range from natural objects, such as plants, to manmade objects, such as chess pieces and buttons.

Below are three of my personal favorites.

I combined these three favorites and added one old contour and one new contour to create the image. Below are a few process shots along with the finished piece at the end.

Last but not least, by using two of the contour drawings, I created an image of opposites. I selected the butterfly (natural) and the pocket watch (manmade). In my head, I like to think that the butterfly is carrying the pocket watch. So here it is: A Butterfly Carrying a Pocket Watch.


Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

MS

© 2023 by EK. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page